The Academy of Adventure Gaming Arts & Design (AAGAD) is a peer based network of gaming industry professionals whose mission is to promote innovation and excellence in design and production of games and game related materials.

Academy Programs

Origins AwardsCallie-Award

Each year the Academy presents the Origins Awards at the Origins Game Fair in June. The purpose of the Origins Awards is to reward excellence in game design.

The nominee’s products in each category, as determined by the Academy Jury, are announced after the GAMA Trade Show in March. The nominees are voted on by all members of the Academy. The Academy vote determines the winner of the Origins Award. The nominee’s products are also voted on by attendees of the Origins Game Fair for a chance to win the Fan Favorite award in each category. The winners are announced at the Origins Awards ceremony during Origins in June.

Any publisher or designer may submit an eligible product for consideration during the course of the year before the published deadline.

Vanguard Award

Vanguard Awards are given to exceptionally innovative products. This award recognizes products deemed by the Academy to be unique and pioneering in the game industry.

HoF_Final_LogoHall of Fame

“In our Hall of Fame we find those people who have made critical contributions to gaming overall. We have those who elevated game design to an art and those who elevated the art found in game design. We have members who have made contributions to the business side of gaming, and those whose contributions have been less in design and production than in service to the industry as a whole.

“And we have the greatest fruits of their labors enshrined there as well.”
— From Mike Stackpole’s “Introduction to the Hall of Fame