Origins Award Winners.

The Origins Awards were presented for the first time at the very first Origins Game Fair in Baltimore in 1975. The purpose of the awards is to recognize excellence in game design, and increase awareness and sales for the nominees, winners, the Origins convention, and hobby games in general.

Any publisher or designer can submit their products for consideration during the eligibility period. Submissions in each category are evaluated by a jury of industry professionals who choose their top products. These become the nominees, which are sent to the Academy of Adventure Gaming Arts & Design. The Academy places their votes by email and the winners are announced during the Awards ceremony.

During the show, attendees also have the opportunity to examine and even play the nominated titles in the Nominee Showcase Area, sponsored by Game Toppers. They are encouraged to vote for their Fan Favorite in each category, the winners of which are also announced during the Awards ceremony.

2019 Winners.

Category Game Company
Best Board Game
Fan Favorite
Game of the Year
Root Leder Games
Best Card Game
Fan Favorite
The Mind Pandasaurus Games
Best Family Game The Tea Dragon Society Card Game Renegade Game Studios
Fan Favorite Family Game Echidna Shuffle Wattsalpoag Games
Best Collectible Game
Fan Favorite
Keyforge Fantasy Flight Games
Best Role-Playing Game
Fan Favorite
Vampire the Masquerade Modiphius Entertainment
Best Role-Playing Game Supplement
Fan Favorite
Dungeons & Dragons: Mordenkainen’s Tome of Foes Wizards of the Coast
Best Miniatures Game Necromunda Games Workshop
Best Miniatures Game
Fan Favorite
Star Wars Legion Fantasy Flight Games
Best Game Accessory Dungeons & Dragons: Black Dragon Trophy Plaque WizKids
Fan Favorite Game Accessory Dungeons & Dragons: Monster Cards Gale Force Nine

Past Winners.

Download the .pdf below to view the winners from past years!